Everything you need

How to Delete All Conversations and Messages in Facebook Messenger

It doesn’t need to be difficult to delete Facebook messages. There are many options to delete Facebook messages, no matter how small or large.

It may be easier for S0me users to delete their entire Facebook profile. There is an articlqae that can be used for this!

How do you clean up your inbox? Follow these steps to clean up your inbox.

Archive Facebook Messages

You may prefer to archive your messages before you delete them all. This will allow you to hide messages you don’t want to lose. These messages will be deleted if you follow the steps below.

Get started in Facebook Messenger

  1. Move your mouse over the conversation that you wish to end.
  2. Click on the three Menu dots to open them.
  3. Click “Hide”

This will delete your unwanted messages without permanently deleting them. To recover old messages, you can visit the Settings page in Facebook Messenger.

Android

Delete messages from an Android tablet or phone

  1. Open Facebook Messenger
  2. Locate a message to delete

  3. To open the context menu, touch and hold the message.
  4. Tap delete

iPhone

Delete messages from an iPhone or iPad

  1. Open the Facebook Messenger App

  2. Hold down the conversation you don’t want, then swipe to the right.
  3. Select Delete from the menu that appears.

  4. Tap Delete Conversation to confirm your selection

The Facebook Messenger App for smartphones allows you to delete one message thread at once. A browser is better if you need to delete multiple messages at once.

Use the browser

  1. Log in to your Facebook account

  2. Click to see all Messenger

  3. Click on the options button next to a conversation

  4. If you wish to delete all messages, click Delete

What about multiple conversations and messages? You will need to install an extension for your browser.

Extensions for the Web Browser

Extensions are a part your web browser that allows you to perform different functions on a site. You will need an extension for your browser to delete all or a portion of your Facebook messages history. You can use Google to search for the Web Store, regardless of whether it is Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer, or both.

Example: Chrome, Google Facebook Messenger mass delete extension or something similar. Chrome.google.com will be one of the top choices. This is the website for that browser.

After clicking “Install”, you will be prompted by various pop-ups to add the extension. The icon will be located in the upper right corner of your browser.

Facebook(tm). Messages Can Be Fastly Deleted

After installing the extension, log into your Facebook account. Click on the Extension icon in the extension bar. It should be adorned with a Facebook Messenger logo, and a red cross at the top.

The rest is as simple as following the instructions on screen.

  1. When it appears, click the “Open Your Messages” button.
  2. Click the button below
  3. Once it appears, begin deletion.
  4. To confirm your action, click OK

It should take care of all messages in your inbox. If it does not, refresh the page and try again. It may not delete all of your conversations if you have too many, so it is worth re-running the process.

You will not be able retrieve your Facebook Message History if you delete it from a web browser. Android allows users to back up Facebook messages to the ES File Explorer.

Message Cleaner

The extension is most effective if you scroll to the bottom of the message list. After you have loaded the extension, it will automatically recognize which messages are available for deletion. You can then select individual messages you wish to save.

You can select multiple messages from different conversations to delete them all at once with both extensions. You will still need to choose the messages you wish to delete. There aren’t any buttons or features that automatically select all messages.

If you haven’t backed up your Facebook messages, these extensions will permanently delete them all. If you have selected “all” and clicked “confirm”, the only way to get your messages back is to ask the person you sent them to for assistance or use data recovery methods to retrieve any backed-up information.

Recovery of Deleted Messages

Only messages from a backup file can be recovered. iPhone users may be able to retrieve those messages by using iCloud. Android users may have them saved in the ES File Explorer.

All conversations saved on your Android tablet or smartphone may be preserved when you use Facebook Messenger on Android smartphones and tablets. They may still be there even though you ‘delete’ them in the messenger.

Here are some suggestions:

You can still access the information if you use ES File Explorer or another explorer that you have installed.

  1. Open ES File Explorer

  2. Go to Storage folder or SD card folder

  3. Open the Android folder by selecting and clicking on it

  4. Open data folder

  5. Scroll down through the folders until ‘com.facebook.orca’ is found (this belongs to the Facebook Messenger App).

  6. The folder can be opened
  7. Open the fb_temp directory

This cache folder contains backup files that are used in Facebook Messenger conversations.

This method might not always work. Only deleted conversations can be recovered if you have backed up your phone before erasing anything.

Alternativly, you can also connect your device and browse folders on your computer.

To recover your old messages, you might need to use third-party software if you have an iOS device. There are many data recovery software options available. It is best to choose the one with better reviews. For data recovery, Dr.Fone is a popular choice.

2 thoughts on “How to Delete All Messages & Conversations in Facebook Messenger”

 

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.